Welcome to the Dinosphere - June 8th & 15th, 2024

also ft. jamie loftus. again.

This week, I listened to 37 hours, 4 minutes, and 45 seconds of podcasts!

And last week, that number was 30 hours and 28 minutes.

These past couple weeks have been an absolute whirlwind and I just haven’t had the time to sit down and write up an issue. And I think that means I need to change something about its format.

So for now, I’m just going to be focusing on the stats. I’ll still include a playlist of my favorite episodes / podcasts from the week, and maybe a write-up if something really inspires me, but otherwise I’m going to try to keep it short and sweet! I know this isn’t what you may have signed up for, and maybe I’ll eventually start writing more again, but for now I have to prioritize myself and my time!

And so I don’t go on for too long, here’s this week’s issue!

Table of Contents

Listening Stats

For June 2nd - June 8th, 2024…

  • Listening Time: 30 hours and 28 minutes

  • Number of Episodes: 44

  • Average Episode Length: 41 minutes and 33 seconds

For June 9th - June 15th, 2024…

  • Listening Time: 37 hours, 4 minutes, and 45 seconds

  • Number of Episodes: 62

  • Average Episode Length: 35 minutes and 53 seconds

Overall Averages to Date:

  • Listening Time: 32 hours, 30 minutes, and 57 seconds

  • Number of Episodes: 52

  • Average Episode Length: 37 hours and 40 minutes

The chart is starting to show some real data!

Weekly Playlist

Tiny Dinos

“Bajillion Dollar Dinosaurs”

I know I just said I wasn’t going to write a lot anymore but then I realized there were a few podcasts I HAD to talk about. Starting with my new favorite podcast: Tiny Dinos.

Tiny Dinos is about two scientists, who are two best friends, and they have made a secret thing. And the world can never know about their tiny dinos, so the podcast is a secret and you can’t tell anyone about it… except your friends, who you think might enjoy it.

I think you all might enjoy it, so please… listen and enjoy! But don’t tell anyone about it—we have to help keep their secret!

This Is Propaganda

“Everything is Propaganda, Even You”

These past two weeks I managed to find the time to listen to ALL of season 1 of This Is Propaganda. As someone who works in marketing, it’s important to understand how the work I do impacts the rest of the world, which is why I try to only work with the coolest people. 😉

Josh and Malcolm from BRINK Media have put together an amazing first season of their podcast, diving into how propaganda has become the foundation of all consumer marketing over generations of media. And how with the omnipresence of social media in our lives, we’ve gotten to the point where everything is propaganda… even you.

Sixteenth Minute (of Fame)

“guy who ate 40 rotisserie chickens in philadelphia”

The last show I want to highlight this week is, once again… Sixteenth Minute (of Fame) from Jamie Loftus. I KNOW I keep bringing up this show, but it’s just so good and every episode keeps me hooked.

This most recent one interrogates (Jamie’s words, not mine) a man from Philadelphia who challenged himself to eat a rotisserie chicken every day for 40 days. (1) I am nauseous just thinking about this concept. (2) This episode is so wild I had to listen to it twice. I didn’t double count the second time I listened to my statistics, but I probably should have because it was audio time. But it’s too late now!

Wil highlighted a quote from the episode that is just so unhinged that I have to share it so you remember it when you hear it:

Alexander Tominsky: I was doing this one really strange thing where I was cutting traffic cones with copper wire in my basement.

Jamie: To… to what end?

Alexander: Uh, the very end.

Sixteenth Minute (of Fame), “guy who ate 40 rotisserie chickens in philadelphia”

What were the stand-out episodes that you listened to this week? Know of a podcast you think would make it on to my list of favorites? Let me know in the comments or a reply to this issue in your inbox!

And if you happened upon this on the web, make sure you subscribe to get weekly updates on my listening habits!

See you all next week!

- Fancy Anne