• Fancy a Listen?
  • Posts
  • This week is an outlier adn should not have been counted - June 22nd, 2024

This week is an outlier adn should not have been counted - June 22nd, 2024

a short issue since I spent so much time listening

This week, I listened to 63 hours and 30 minutes of podcasts.

You read that right: I listened to over 2 and a half days’ worth of audio this week. I don’t want to talk about it. It’s been A Week.

Usually I spend a lot of time outside, but with this heat wave I’ve hunkered down in my office and have filled my ear holes with delicious delicious podcasts. I did spend a lot of my day on Saturday (yesterday) at a 2-year-old’s outdoor birthday party, so keep in mind that most of this listening happened Sunday the 16th through Friday the 21st, over 6 days vs 7.

But don’t worry: I didn’t actually listen to podcasts for that long. Remember, I listen at 1.5x speed with silences trimmed to most podcasts. Some I do listen to at regular speed (like this week’s episode of How To Act Fereldan and the upcoming episodes of The Deposition 😘), but accounting for the time saved for trimming silences, it probably averages out to 1.5x speed overall.

All this to say that I have two new statistics to add to the tracker: Listening Time at 1.5x Speed and Approximate Daily Listening at 1.5x Speed…. I think Approximate Daily Listening is also new since last week? That makes it three!

So… lots of listening, new data, lots of flagged episodes, no summaries this week!

Table of Contents

Listening Stats

For June 16th - June 22nd, 2024…

  • Listening Time: 63 hours and 30 minutes

  • Listening Time (at 1.5x Speed): 42 hours and 20 minutes

  • Number of Episodes: 89

  • Average Episode Length: 42 minutes and 49 seconds

  • Approximate Daily Listening: 9 hours, 4 minutes, and 17 seconds

  • Approximate Daily Listening (at 1.5x Speed): 6 hours, 2 minutes, and 51 seconds

Overall Weekly Averages to Date:

  • Listening Time: 37 hours, 40 minutes, and 48 seconds

  • Listening Time (at 1.5x Speed): 25 hours, 7 minutes, and 12 seconds

  • Number of Episodes: 58

  • Average Episode Length: 38 minutes, 32 seconds

  • Approximate Daily Listening: 5 hours, 22 minutes, and 58 seconds

  • Approximate Daily Listening (at 1.5x Speed): 3 hours, 35 minutes, and 19 seconds

this is such an unhinged chart now

Weekly Playlist

What were the stand-out episodes that you listened to this week? Know of a podcast you think would make it on to my list of favorites? Let me know in the comments or a reply to this issue in your inbox!

And if you happened upon this on the web, make sure you subscribe to get weekly updates on my listening habits!

See you all next week!

- Fancy Anne