The heat wave is going to kill me - June 29th, 2024

60+ Hours Of Listening: Take 2

This heat wave is going to be the death of me. I need to be spending more time outside, or maybe try some music?

The reason why? Last week I listened to 64 hours and 18 minutes of podcasts.

That is more than the week before.

The other thing that’s changed is that I finally caught up on 20 seasons of Grey’s Anatomy… something I do not recommend doing unless you really like medical dramas. In its place, I picked up a few podcast to become my new background noise. And once I caught up on my regular queue backlog, they’ve been most of what I listen to each day. They're my comfort podcasts, I suppose? Anyway, here they are!

My Current Comfort Podcasts:

Also, trying something new this week to make it easier for me to talk about the shows I listen to—let me know what you think!

Table of Contents

Listening Stats

For June 23rd - June 29th, 2024…

  • Listening Time: 64 hours, 18 minutes, and 23 seconds

  • Listening Time (at 1.5x Speed): 42 hours, 52 minutes, and 15 seconds

  • Number of Episodes: 73

  • Average Episode Length: 52 minutes and 51 seconds

  • Approximate Daily Listening: 9 hours, 11 minutes, and 12 seconds

  • Approximate Daily Listening (at 1.5x Speed): 6 hours, 7 minutes, and 28 seconds

Overall Weekly Averages to Date:

  • Listening Time: 41 hours, 29 minutes, and 01 seconds

  • Listening Time (at 1.5x Speed): 27 hours, 39 minutes, and 21 seconds

  • Number of Episodes: 60

  • Average Episode Length: 40 minutes and 35 seconds

  • Approximate Daily Listening: 5 hours, 55 minutes, and 34 seconds

  • Approximate Daily Listening (at 1.5x Speed): 3 hours, 57 minutes, and 3 seconds

Weekly Playlist

🧠 Short Wave

I had two episodes of Short Wave that I enjoyed this week, but this one really stood out to me because I am TERRIBLE at recognizing people and matching faces to names. I have no problem remembering faces, but if you tell me your name out loud I am almost guaranteed to forget it immediately. Please wear a name tag at large functions, I beg you.

🦖 Tiny Dinos

This episode of Tiny Dinos went off the rails so quickly, and the reveal of their tiny dinosaurs to the guest (slash home invader) happened with no warning that it made me laugh out loud.

🎓 Exposed: Cover-Up at Columbia University

I listened to all of this podcast last week and WOW. Exposed is definitely not a podcast for the faint of heart—it’s graphic and dark. But there’s a sliver of justice at the end, and the hope of more justice to come.

🍼 Come by Chance

Come by Chance continues to catch me off guard with each new episode, and this one was no different. More people need to listen to this podcast so I can talk to them about it!!

🏰 Land of the Giants

Every season so far of Land of the Giants has been a great listen. Since 2020 they’ve covered major companies like Amazon, Netflix, Apple, Google, Facebook, Tesla, and Twitter. So it was only a matter of time before they came for the Mouse. I’m a big fan of Disney, but not without being critical of it. So needless to say, I’m looking forward to hearing their thoughts on what Disney has done to grow so far!

🎶 Quick Smart

I just really liked this episode of Quick Smart because it reminded me how much I love singing. I was in my school’s choir in middle school and high school, and that’s honestly what got me through school. Don’t get me started on karaoke, though… It’s the absolute nightmare scenario for me, full of secondhand embarrassment!

🐗 Sixteenth Minute (of Fame)

And it wouldn’t be an issue of my newsletter without highlighting Sixteenth Minute (of Fame). At the time it happened, I didn’t know anything about the actual 30-50 feral hogs tweet and why it came about, so this was a great educational listen for me.

What were the stand-out episodes that you listened to this week? Know of a podcast you think would make it on to my list of favorites? Let me know in the comments or a reply to this issue in your inbox!

And if you happened upon this on the web, make sure you subscribe to get weekly updates on my listening habits!

See you all next week!

- Fancy Anne